

# Selected Faculty Awards and Honors: '10-11

The convergence of research and innovation.

## **Chemical Engineering**

- · Doyle, Frank
  - 2010, elected Fellow of the American Assn for the Advancement of Science
  - 2010 American Society for Engineering Education, ChE Division, Lectureship Award
- · Frederickson, Glenn
  - Fellow, AAAS Award
- · Gordon, Michael
  - 2010 David and Lucile Packard Fellowship
- Han, Songi
  - 2010 Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
- Leal, Gary
  - Fellow, AAAS Award
- Mellichamp, Duncan (emeritus)
  - 2010 American Society for Engineering Education, ChE Division, CACHE Award

### **Computer Science**

- Kruegel, Christopher
  - MIT TR 35 Winner
- El Abbadi, Amr
  - ACM Fellow
- Suri. Subhash
  - ACM Fellow
- Turk, Matthew
- 2011-12 Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair
- · Conrad, Phillip
  - Academic Senate Distinguished Teaching Award
- Agrawal, Divv
  - 2010-11 Academic Senate Outstanding Graduate Mentorship
  - ACM Distinguished Scientist
- Petzold, Linda (joint appt in ME)
  - 2010-11 Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecturer Award

# **Electrical and Computer Engineering**

- · Byl, Katie
  - Sloan Research Fellowship in Neuroscience
  - 2011 Regents Jnr. Faculty Fellowship
- · Gibson, Jerry
  - 2010 IEEE Transactions on Multimedia Best Paper Award
- Gossard, Arthur (Emeritus)
  - Elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
- · Parhami, Behrooz
  - Awarded the Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing Top Cited Article 2005-2010
- Teel, Andrew
  - 2010 IEEE , Control Systems Magazine Outstanding Paper Award
- · Theogarajan, Luke
  - 2011 Regents Junior Faculty Fellowship
  - 2010 New Innovator Award from the National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  - Awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER award
- Wang, Li-C
  - Awarded the Technical Excellence Award by Semiconductor Research Corporation in Microelectronics Research

#### **Materials**

- Hawker, Craig (joint apt in Chemistry)
  - 2010 Fellow of the American Chemical Society
  - 2010 Fellow of the Royal Society
  - 2011 American Chemical Society Arthur C.
    Cope Scholar Award
- Denbaars, Steve (joint apt in ECE)
  - 2010 IEEE Aron Kressel Award
- Pollock, Tresa
  - 2011 TMS Distinguished Service

#### **Materials** continued

- · Seshadri, Ram (joint apt in Chemistry)
  - 2010 Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry
- Speck, James
  - 2010 IEEE Aron Kressel Award
- Stucky, Galen (joint apt in Chemistry)
  - 2011 Nano Today Award
- · Van De Walle, Chris
  - 2011 Fellow of the AAAS)
- Wudl, Fred (joint apt in Chemistry)
  - 2011 Stephanie Kwolek Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry

# **Mechanical Engineering**

- Bullo, Francesco
  - 2010 O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, American Automatic Control Council
  - IEEE Fellow, Class of 2010
- Khammash, Mustafa
  - Leon Heller Publication Prize (with Munsky, Trinh)
  - 2010 Fellow, International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC)
- Krechetnikov, Rouslan
  - NSF CAREER Award
  - Hellman Family Fund Fellowship
  - Regents Junior Faculty Fellowship
- Matthys, Eric
  - 2010 UCSB Sustainability Champion Award
- Odette, G. Robert (joint appt in Matls)
  - 2010 American Nuclear Society Fusion
    Energy Division Special Achievement Award
- · Paden, Bradley
  - 2010 ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division Charles S. Draper Award
- Tom Soh (joint appt in Matls and BMSE)
  - 2011 Edward Nagy Award from NIH
  - 2010 Guggenheim Fellowship